When is probate required in California?

Probate is required whenever somebody dies with more than $188,000 in his or her name. Now, this is the gross value of the asset or the fair market value of the asset on the date of their death without subtracting any debts. And so if somebody owned a home, even if the home had a sizable mortgage, they will probably have to go through probate.

Probate is required regard regardless of whether there is a will or not. So if someone has a will and they own more than $188,000 their estate will still have to go through probate.

Quick Question Corner is a video segment where we answer common questions about estate planning and elder law. If you have similar questions, leave them in the comment section and we can feature them in one of our videos in the future.

Watch Videos about:

Search Videos:

I'm interested in...

Getting a California Will

getting a California will icon

Creating a California Revocable Living Trust

California revocable living trust icon

Help with Healthcare Documents in California

healthcare documents in California icon

Avoiding Conservatorship

avoiding conservatorship icon
avvo clients' choice award for california estate planning attorney
California estate planning attorney wealth counsel membership badge
California estate planning attorney elder counsel membership badge
California estate planning attorney BBB membership badge
California estate planning attorney BBB membership badge
California estate planning attorney BBB membership badge

Davis

750 F Street, Suite 2,
Davis, CA 95616.

530–763-0014

Sacramento

333 University Ave Suite 200 Sacramento CA 95825

916–975-7560

Roseville

3017 Douglas Boulevard Suite 300 Roseville CA 95616

916–975-7721

Skip to content